View Full Version : Anyone ever buy an E-bay engine?
justin
06-04-2003, 04:42 PM
I saw some good looking 383 crate engines on e-bay and I was wondering if anyone has bought one off of there? Here is one <a href="http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=33615&item=2417678 744" target="_blank" target="_new">http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=33615&item=2417678 744</a> does all that stuff that he said was done to those engines really give it that much more power? They seem like a pretty good price, but i\'m kinda worried about getting one though. Would it be better just to build up an engine myself?
wickeds10
06-04-2003, 06:55 PM
i think the guy is a load of crap with the compresion making that kind of power
Doug327
06-05-2003, 10:15 PM
People get that kind of power from 9:1 motors..I think it sounds like a stout motor..Did you see the size of the valves?!
wickeds10
06-05-2003, 11:57 PM
yeah i seen that but look at the junk in the motor its not worth buying
Fergusonic
06-06-2003, 04:48 AM
It\'s easy to tell a story about an engine one is selling....about how great it is and all the stuff inside that you can\'t see.....even presenting receipts don\'t prove anything. I would only buy a low mileage stock engine from Ebay and, even then, get the VIN from the car it came from and run a carfax on it and get a warranty. It\'s so easy to get screwed. Goodluck.
wickeds10
06-06-2003, 05:47 AM
true....well said
IceQueen
06-06-2003, 08:46 AM
Id email some of the older purchasers and ask if the guys ligit . make sure to email people from the good, netral and, bad write ups and see how things worked out. usualy the best way or atleast its how i do it I dont like getting ripped off personaly and if you can get some good reviews then your set.
Doug327
06-09-2003, 12:32 AM
On 2003-06-06 03:57, wickeds10 wrote:
yeah i seen that but look at the junk in the motor its not worth buying
Junk in the motor???..Dude everything he lists in the motor is name brand.
Doug327
06-09-2003, 12:36 AM
On 2003-06-06 08:48, Fergusonic wrote:
It\'s easy to tell a story about an engine one is selling....about how great it is and all the stuff inside that you can\'t see.....even presenting receipts don\'t prove anything. I would only buy a low mileage stock engine from Ebay and, even then, get the VIN from the car it came from and run a carfax on it and get a warranty. It\'s so easy to get screwed. Goodluck.
Carfax cant tell you when oil changes were made \"If they were not at a dealership\" And how the vehicle was driven.
wickeds10
06-09-2003, 05:16 AM
i see chevy pink rods ...and they r as stock as they come that is junk and it has low compression the heads make it good and the cam then he list another cam for it
Fergusonic
06-09-2003, 12:09 PM
Only mileage was mentioned along with CarFax in that sentence.
My engine has gold plated connecting rods, diamond-studded wrist pins, and a lollypop glued at the bottom of the pan.....believe me?
BEWARE!
I HAVE BEEN RIPPED OFF...I DO A LOT OF BIZ ON EBAY...AND MY ONE AND ONLY MAJOR RIPOFF WAS A \"BUILT\" MOTOR...WHEN I RECEIVED IT STILL HAD OLD OIL IN PAN...WAS A STOCK MOTOR WITH ABOUT A KAJILLION MILES...DON\'T BUY UNLESS YOU CAN SEE IT/TOUCH IT IN PERSON, UNLESS A TRUSTWORTHY AND RELIABLE SHOP LIKE ICE QUEEN SAYS...THERE ARE SOME GR8 DEALS...BUT BEWARE!
tracker
06-12-2003, 07:48 AM
no mention of a warranty. i spent $3200 on my setup and i can asure that there is no junk in mine. and i supplied the block and heads. 1000 more if i bought them from the bulder. you need to base your decision on the builder\'s rep. NOT on what sounds good. this guy could say it has all this stuff but when it is all assembled you really dont know what he used. the dyno #\'s are very generous. i can take a stock 350 and make the dyno say 500HP. my builder don\'t recommend this guy with those claims on his motors. there is a rip off somewhere
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.